Brainstorming My Book

I shouldn’t be working on the first sentence of my book. I am light years away from doling out “It was a bright, cold day in April, and the clocks were striking thirteen.”

So, brainstorming it is.

Where to begin?

I Should Mention…

I have already thought of a few themes to write about.

I love dystopic stories. Whether they be of the horror variety (Walking Dead anyone?), or political (1984 is my favorite book), or Sci-fi. I’ll consume any type of media that has a bleak outlook for it’s characters.

So I want to write some sort of dystopian fiction.

I also enjoy reading about current events, history and political theory. So I’m probably leaning in more of an Orwellian type novel as opposed to my protaginist fighting off a pleauge or beast.

I have some other themes I’d like to hit on, but they aren’t nearly as fleshed out yet, so I’ll save them until I think they’re ready to share.

How To Brainstorm

I had the same English teacher in 7th, 8th, 10th, and 11th grade. The story behind that is too long and boring to get into here, so let’s just leave it at, Mr. Hannigan had a profound impact on my English prowess.

One thing we did do a number of times in his class was free writing.

Free Writing

If you don’t know the process yet, it’s pretty simple.

  1. Sit down with a piece of paper or your computer and a word processor.
  2. Pick a topic to write about (probably the theme of your book).
  3. Pick a time limit to write. 5 minutes can work. I usually do 10.
  4. Write down EVERYTHING that pops into your head. The name of the game here (again) is quantity.
  5. Save whatever you write.

Most of what you write will be garbage. However, there will be a few unpolished gems in there that will help you either with your book, your thought process, or, at the very least, your next free writing session.

Get Out and Experience.

I read an article that gives a huge list on how to brainstorm. The gist of what the article suggests to do is:

  • Read
  • Write
  • Talk
  • Listen
  • Observe
  • Think

Essentailly consume what is going on around you and contemplate how your surroundings would fit into your narritive.

Enough Alrady

Blog you’ve been fun today, but I got to get out and experince the world…or at least go watch the people at my local beach.

It get’s weird there, I’m ready to consume.

Leave a Reply

