Why I’m Writing This Blog

This might be an exercise in futility.

In fact, if you read the sub-title of this blog, you’d probably think some blue-collar guy teaching himself fiction is a fool’s errand. And you’d probably be right. But the internet is full of delusional people creating all sorts of self-inflicted disasters. So why can’t I pile on?

(The smart money is on futility.)

Anywho, if you are still with me, you’d probably want some sort of explanation as to why this blog exists in the first place.

1) I Want To Write a Book (fiction)

I’m falling into that part of my life where I want to test myself. I’m want to climb my Everest so to speak. However, I’m too fat to climb a mountain. Ditto with running a marathon. Cross-fit is beyond stupid. And there is very little chance I’m curing cancer moving furniture.

Why not try to write a book? And you know, get it published, sell millions of copies world wide, get an HBO deal and live the rest of my life as some sort cross between of Hunter S and Hemingway? This is all perfectly within reach.

Oh yeah, and let’s not forget, other than going to college, I have no real training in writing. And I majored in Finance, so saying I even had any sort of training in college is debatable.

(Seriously, there Vegas is still taking bets on futility. Get your money in.)

This blog will be about the process of me learning how to write a book. If you’ve ever wanted to write a book and are not sure how, this blog will probably be a blueprint of what not to do. I am going to make all the mistakes so you don’t have to.

If, on the off chance this blog turns into anything of any value, it should have all you could ever want to know about the writing or marketing process for a work of fiction.

B) I Need Writing Reps.

If you’re still with me, you’re probably thinking I have no business writing a blog let alone a book.

First, you hurt my feelings by thinking that. Second, I know.

The blog is here for me to get better as a writer. The first many posts will be bad. (hehehe…first many) At this point in my career, quantity is better than quality.

The idea is the quantity I write here will translate into quality when I write my book (fingers crossed).

For now, I’m going to post once a day. Some posts will be quick and dirty, some will be a little more thoughtful…and dirty. But there will be something every day about how I’m going about writing this book.

I’m not sure what that will look like. But I’m excited to find out.

7) I Hope The Blog Does Some Good.

At the very least, you should be able to learn from my mistakes.  But if my mistakes are so egregious that you wouldn’t dream of making the same ones, maybe you can use this blog as a confidence booster.

Hey, if this idiot is trying to write a book, why can’t you?

Leave a Reply

